Wk 2…A spoonful of sugar? Nah…30 minutes of physical activity! THAT’s where it’s at! ;)

So we are getting close to rounding off the end of week 2 for the Transformation Nation Triad and we’re still going strong!  Both Ian and I lost about 3 lbs each as of last Saturday’s weigh-in!  Not too shabby…although not nearly what I was hoping for…but it’s progress nonetheless right? 😉

Saturday we did a fitness challenge – 1 minute timed pushups and sit ups/crunches and then we were timed to see how long we could last doing what’s called a “wall sit.”  (Basically you “sit” with your back to the wall on your invisible chair for as long as you can.) I did 14 pushups, 19 pilates-style sit-ups and held out to be the LAST person ‘standing’ in my “wall sit” just seconds short of 2 minutes and 20 seconds!!!!  And yes, I could barely move off that wall when I was done….lol.  (Although apparently not tired enough because then I went to my RPM cycling class for 55 minutes….haha)  Ian completed 20 pushups on knees, 32 crunches and a “wall sit” for 30 seconds! He and Andrew played basketball after it was all said and done. When we got home, I had just about enough energy to make it up the stairs to the deck and back door, make myself a protein shake and then pass out from about 10:30am – 5:00pm! lol  I can’t believe how exhausted I was!

Sunday we took a trip out to Dick’s (sporting goods store) where I bought my first Polar heart rate monitor and strap (yay!!) and oogled the beautiful kayaks hanging on the walls.  I had several Wayne’s World moments – “It will be mine…oh yes, it will be mine!” 😉 Sunday was also the day when mother nature decided to entertain us with the sleet and freezing rain and snow in the afternoon/evening…so we got to enjoy our sleet obstacle course to the car! 🙂

Monday was a late start for both Ian and I’s days (no school for the boys because of President’s Day) because of the roads, but productive nonetheless as far as school stuff goes.  Tuesday was my first of my two long days each week and, even though I felt as though I had absolutely no energy remaining, I still put on my new heart rate monitor and strap and peddled, climbed, sweated and pumped my way through my RPM cycling class. ( BTW…I did EVERY one of my climbs this time!!!)

And then we get to today – Wednesday. Emotions were running very high today – personal and academic reasons together – and by the time I was done with my test for school I was ready to just call it a day and go to bed. However, I knew that I would feel better if I would get out and move so since Ian had already reserved a court for racquetball, I decided I’d talk with a trainer about my heart rate findings (which are a little crazy….more on that another day) and then do my next workout for the Couch to 5k program (C25K).

Today was the week 3, day 1 workout which consists of the following:

  • “5 minute warm up
  • Run 3 minutes, walk 2 minutes
  • Run 1.5 minutes, walk 2 minutes
  • Run 3 minutes, walk 2 minutes
  • Run 1.5 minutes, walk 2 minutes
  • Cool down for 5 minutes”

I completed 1.49 miles with an average pace of 13:20/mile…not too bad considering the first (and only) time I ever ran a 5k it took me 49:52! lol Keeping up this pace will mean that I will shave off almost 10 minutes from my time! haha  Woohoo!And yes, my goal of improving my energy and mood was met by working out….and I loved it!  I’ve never run 3 minutes straight before so it was definitely a confidence booster to do so, especially as exhausted as I’ve been feeling lately!

Yay….okay, so I’m pretty sure I’ve covered all the highlights since I last posted.  (Oh, well except for the attempt at trying sashimi for my very first time in my life EVER….it was ‘eh…okay.’ Still not a fish person…but I’m trying! lol) I hope everyone else’s week is going well for them and that you’re reading this in good health!

I will post again soon!  Gnite!

6 responses to “Wk 2…A spoonful of sugar? Nah…30 minutes of physical activity! THAT’s where it’s at! ;)

  1. Congrats on doing all the climbs in cycling class and for running 3 minutes straight! That’s AWESOME!

    • Haha thanks, Missy!! I have you, my sister Gabby, Christie (Koester) and my friend Emily to thank for encouraging me just by being active yourselves! What events are you registered for so far this year? (This may be a blog posted question in another week or two…lol)

  2. Just keep on keeping on..You will make your goal! Just reading all you did makes me tired, I can understand why you were exhausted. When you are about to be disappointed with speed of your weight loss try to remember that you did not gain it as fast as you are already now losing it.

    • Thank you, Sally! That’s a very good point about the rate of the weight loss. I know better than to get too disappointed in the slow-go…but slow is better. It gives my skin a chance to ‘heal’ so I won’t have as much loose skin AND with it coming off so slow, I’m more than likely to avoid it coming back to haunt me in the future. 🙂

  3. Keep up the great work Caryn! You are doing awesome!

Leave a Reply

