Daily Archives: March 3, 2012

What week are we on again? ;-)

Hi all!! This week has been a decent week overall for the both of us. As it turns out, Ian maintained his weight this week (according to the scale Friday morning, but we had left in a hurry this morning and when we got home he weighed himself and lost 2 lbs…lol…oh well, he can add those to next Saturday’s weigh-in…lol) and I’ve lost 2.6 lbs since last Saturday’s weigh in. 🙂 So finally (according to the scale at the Y) I’ve made it below 220!!! Woohoo!!

Now, I have a birthday coming up and I’m 17.5 lbs away from (again, according to the scale at the Y) getting below my first goal of 200. I was really hoping to do this by my birthday (the 21st) do it looks like I’ll be pushing my date back a little but as long as I’m on a downward trajectory with my weight I’m happy. 🙂

I do think it’s kind of funny though that I was able to lose more weight this week than I have in prior weeks because I ended up having to limit my activity so that I can rest my back and chest. Back in September I began to have chest pains just to the left of my sternum. It wasn’t bad pain, more of an annoying ache like I had pulled a muscle, and because I’ve been under a lot of stress and had just began an exercise routine that included Pilates and yoga, I chalked it up to that and just went on about my business. The ache would come and go and seemed to be completely unrelated to my activity level so I ended up waiting until December to get seen by my doctor. A chest x-ray and exam later, I was diagnosed as having what’s called costochondritis. (inflammation of the cartilage between the rib and the breastplate.)

I was put on some anti-inflammatory medication and by mid-February I was still noticing it and was beginning to believe that maybe it was more of an alignment issue. So I finally saw a chiropractor this last week (who is wonderful!) and had two adjustments done. (Ahh….snap, crackle and pop!) I took it easy this week and let my spine rest for a little while and I’m so glad I did. I’m already feeling better and I’m hopeful that my ribs are on the mend and that I’ll be back in the saddle next week!! 🙂

Some goals for this coming week:
– try to get at least one serving of a fruit a/o a veggie at each meal
– to begin the process of breaking two very difficult addictions for me : cereal for breakfast and the occasional Cadbury Creme Egg indulgence. I’d like to try to substitute a piece of fruit for the Cadbury egg….that chocolate is so good though. Lol
– to get serious about the strength training aspect of this program and get in at least two strength sessions this week.

Okay, well I have some extremely interesting cardiac-related material to study for school so I will sign off for now! 😉 I hope everyone has a great weekend and gets a chance to get outside and enjoy some gentle movement and fresh air! 🙂
~ Caryn

20120303-113147.jpg